Prime Minister Robert Golob accelerates process after attacks in Rafah, highlighting international solidarity and condemnation of hostilities | Photo: Žan-Kolman/KPV

This Thursday (30), the Slovenian government approved a motion to recognize the Palestinian state, following in the footsteps of Spain, Norway and Ireland, who made the same decision two days earlier. The measure still needs to be voted on by Parliament, where Prime Minister Robert Golob’s liberal coalition has a comfortable majority, making approval all but guaranteed.

“Today, Slovenia decided to recognize Palestine as an independent and sovereign state,” Golob told Ljubljana press. To symbolize the decision, the government raised the Palestinian flag alongside the Slovenian and European Union flags.

Read too: Spain, Norway and Ireland officially recognize Palestine as a State

Golob highlighted that this “is a message of peace”, calling for an immediate ceasefire between Israel and Hamas in Gaza and the release of Israeli hostages captured in the October 7, 2023 attacks.

International reactions

The Slovenian measure follows the trend of growing support for the recognition of Palestine. Currently, more than 140 UN member countries, including Brazil, recognize Palestine as a state. With this decision, Slovenia becomes the tenth country in the European Union to make this recognition official.

Israeli Foreign Minister Israel Katz criticized the Slovenian decision, saying approval would “amount to rewarding” Hamas and strengthen the “Iranian axis of evil.” He called on Slovenian MPs to reject the proposal.

Read too: Brazil defends recognition of Palestine at the UN

Other European countries have also taken significant measures. Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris has called on Israel to stop the humanitarian crisis in Gaza. “We wanted to recognize Palestine at the end of a peace process, but we made this movement alongside Spain and Norway to keep the miracle of peace alive,” said Harris.

Norwegian Chancellor Espen Barth Eide highlighted his country’s historic role in mediating the Oslo Accords and reiterated Norway’s commitment to the Palestinian cause. “For more than 30 years, Norway has been one of the most ardent supporters of a Palestinian state,” said Eide.

Context of the conflict

The conflict in Gaza, which began with a Hamas attack in October 2023, resulted in severe retaliation by Israel. Since then, more than 36,000 Palestinians have died, according to authorities in the Gaza Strip. The Israeli offensive has caused great destruction and displacement of civilians, with 81,000 people injured, the majority of them women and children (around 75%).

Read too: Deaths, arrests and espionage: Palestinian journalist exposes Israel’s ‘apartheid’

Slovenian approval and recognition by other European countries are seen as a response to the escalation of violence and deteriorating humanitarian conditions in Gaza. Currently, ten of the 27 members of the European Union officially recognize Palestine: Sweden, Cyprus, Hungary, Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia, Romania, Bulgaria, Spain and Ireland. Other countries, such as Malta, the United Kingdom and Australia, are considering adopting the same measure.

Check below the complete list of countries that approve the recognition of the Palestinian State.

  1. Afghanistan
  2. South Africa
  3. Albania
  4. Angola
  5. Antigua and Barbuda
  6. Saudi Arabia
  7. Algeria
  8. Argentina
  9. Azerbaijan
  10. Bahamas
  11. Bahrain
  12. Bangladesh
  13. Barbados
  14. Belarus
  15. Belize
  16. Benin
  17. Bolivia
  18. Bosnia
  19. Botsuana
  20. Brazil
  21. Brunei
  22. Bulgaria
  23. Burkina Faso
  24. Burundi
  25. Bhutan
  26. Cape Verde
  27. Cambodia
  28. Kazakhstan
  29. Chad
  30. Chile
  31. China
  32. Cyprus
  33. Colombia
  34. (islands) Comoros
  35. Congo
  36. North Korea
  37. Costa do Marfim
  38. Costa Rica
  39. Cuba
  40. Djibouti
  41. Dominica
  42. Egypt
  43. The Savior
  44. United Arab Emirates
  45. Ecuador
  46. Spain
  47. Slovakia
  48. Eswatini (formerly Swaziland)
  49. Ethiopia
  50. Filipinas
  51. Gabon
  52. Gambia
  53. Gana
  54. Georgia
  55. Granada
  56. Guatemala
  57. Guiana
  58. Guinea
  59. Guinea Bissau
  60. Equatorial Guinea
  61. Haiti
  62. Honduras
  63. Hungary
  64. Yemen
  65. India
  66. Indonesia
  67. Will
  68. Iraq
  69. Ireland
  70. Iceland
  71. Jamaica
  72. Jordan
  73. Kuwait
  74. Laos
  75. Lesotho
  76. Lebanon
  77. Liberia
  78. Libya
  79. Madagascar
  80. Malaysia
  81. Malawi
  82. Maldives
  83. Mali
  84. Morocco
  85. (Mauricio Islands
  86. Mauritania
  87. Mexico
  88. Mozambique
  89. Mongolia
  90. Montenegro
  91. Namibia
  92. Nepal
  93. Nicaragua
  94. Niger
  95. Nigeria
  96. Norway
  97. Oman
  98. Papua New Guinea
  99. Pakistan
  100. Paraguay
  101. Peru
  102. Poland
  103. Qatar
  104. Kenya
  105. Kyrgyzstan
  106. Central African Republic
  107. Democratic Republic of Congo
  108. Dominican Republic
  109. Czech republic
  110. Romania
  111. Rwanda
  112. Russia
  113. Saint Lucia
  114. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  115. Sao Tome and Principe
  116. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  117. Senegal
  118. Sierra Leone
  119. Serbia
  120. Seychelles
  121. Syria
  122. Somalia
  123. Sri Lanka
  124. Sudan
  125. Southern Sudan
  126. Sweden
  127. Suriname
  128. Tajikistan
  129. Thailand
  130. Tanzania
  131. Timor read
  132. Togo
  133. Trinidad and Tobago
  134. Tunisia
  135. Turkmenistan
  136. Türkiye
  137. Ukraine
  138. Uganda
  139. Uruguay
  140. Uzbekistan
  141. Vanuatu
  142. Venezuela
  143. Vietnam
  144. Zambia
  145. Zimbabwe

with agencies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *