The country competed against a triple candidacy from Germany, the Netherlands and Belgium; event will be held in South America for the first time

FIFA (International Federation of Associated Football) announced in the early hours of this Friday (May 17, 2024) the choice of Brazil as the host country for the 2027 Women’s Football World Cup. The announcement was made by the organization’s president, Gianni Infantino , during an event in Bangkok, Thailand.

Brazil obtained 119 votes, compared to 78 votes for the rival candidate, formed by Germany, the Netherlands and Belgium. This was the first time that the choice of headquarters was made through a vote by national federations. Previously, the decision was made by the 36 members of the former Executive Committee. In Thailand, 207 countries voted. The 4 candidate countries did not participate in the vote.

Supported by the government of President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva (PT), the Brazilian candidacy used the slogan “A Natural Choice”.

The Brazilian delegation in Bangkok is made up of:

  • by the president of the CBF (Brazilian Football Confederation), Ednaldo Rodrigues;
  • by the Minister of Sports, André Fufuca;
  • by the CBF Women’s Competitions manager, Aline Pellegrino;
  • for the only athlete to compete in 7 FIFA World Cups, the player Formiga; It is
  • by consultants Valesca Araújo, Jacqueline Barros, Manuela Biz and Ricardo Trade.

I thank everyone who participated in the FIFA Congress for their trust in choosing Brazil to host the 2027 Women’s World Cup. Today we are experiencing a historic day in Bangkok. This is a victory for women’s football worldwide. I guarantee you all that Brazil will have the best Women’s World Cup in history”, said the president of the CBF.

FIFA Women’s World Cup

This will be the first time that the FIFA Women’s World Cup will be held in South America. Brazil has already organized 2 men’s World Cups: in 1950 and in 2014. As the host, the Brazilian team is already qualified. Another 32 countries will participate in the 10th edition of the event, which will be held in 10 Brazilian cities.

The last Women’s World Cup was hosted in Australia and New Zealand in July and August 2023, and crowned the Spanish team as champions. Brazil fell in the group stage.

Before the tournament arrived in Oceania, it had been hosted by China, Sweden, the United States, Germany, Canada and France.

Spain are the current world champions, joining the United States, Germany, Japan and Norway as the teams to have lifted the trophy. The USA are the biggest champions of the tournament, with 4 titles, while Germany has been champion twice.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *