Opposition, which supports former Prime Minister Imran Khan, currently in prison, protests during the re-elected speech

The National Assembly of Pakistan elected this Sunday (3 March 2024) Nawaz Sharif, leader of the Pakistan Muslim League, as the country’s prime minister. He had previously led the country from April 2022 to August 2023, before Parliament was dissolved.

Sharif was elected in a national election marked by delays and accusations of fraud by the opposition. By 201 votes to 92, he defeated Omar Ayub Khan, the candidate supported by former Prime Minister Imran Khan.

In a publication on X, the official account of the Government of Pakistan announced the result:

On February 11, the Electoral Commission had declared that candidates allied with the former prime minister won the largest number of seats in the National Assembly – which would have made him elected, if he had not been prevented from running.

Khan, who was prime minister from 2018 to 2022, has been in prison since August 2023. He was sentenced to 24 years in prison for selling gifts from the Executive and leaking state secrets. The sentences were given just days before the elections.

According to the news agency Reuters, Nawaz Sharif’s declaration of victory in the assembly was the target of protests from the SIC alliance (Sunni Ittihad Council, in free translation), supported by Khan. Here is the video published by the SIC leader:

Parliamentarians called for Khan’s release and accused Sharif of electoral fraud with shouts of “mandate thieves”, during the speech of the elected representative. The translation is from Reuters.

Source: https://www.poder360.com.br/internacional/parlamento-paquistanes-reelege-nawaz-sharif-como-primeiro-ministro/

Leave a Reply